Founding CM&E


CM&E was established in 1954 by an ACS NY Section's steering committee in order to address the challenges of the industry of chemistry in all of its phases.


Over time the group focus has expanded from technology and business to investments and policy in order to develop a holistic approach to advancing the transformational power of chemistry, the central science, for the benefit of humanity.


The founding committee included leaders from the Vick Chemical Company (acquired by P&G), Allied Chemical and Dye (acquired by Honeywell), Celanese Corporation, The Oil, Paint and Drug Reporter (acquired by ICIS), and American Cyanamid (parts of the company were acquired separately by BASF, Pfizer and Cytec).


The inaugural speaker was Dr. Joseph G. Davidson, president of Carbide and Carbon Chemicals Company (Union Carbide later acquired by Dow Chemical).


On its Diamond Jubilee, the Lifetime Achievement honoree and the first speaker of the 2014 Leadership Awards of CM&E was Andrew Liveris, Chairman and CEO of Dow Chemical.












  • 1 Sharpen your Strategy
  • 1 Where Technology, Business & Investment Meet
  • 1 Pioneering
  • 1 Cutting-edge
  • 1 Authoritative. Timely. Actionable.
  • 1 Stimulating
  • 1 Insightful
  • 1 Global Networking
  • 1 Help Create the Future
  • 1 Progress Through Science Education
  • 1 Become a Member
  • 1 The American Chemical Society – Est. 1876
  • 1 The World's Largest Scientific Society
  • 1 Over 160,000 Members Worldwide

About Us
Impactful Topics, Provocative Speakers, Cutting-edge Insights since March 11, 1954

Chemical Marketing & Economics

Established on March 11, 1954, CM&E is a topical group of the American Chemical Society’s New York Section. ACS, founded in Manhattan in 1876 and chartered by the U.S. Congress, is the world's largest scientific society with over 160,000 members and the premier global home for chemists, chemical engineers and related professions. ACS is one of the leading sources of authoritative information with 47 scientific journals and a registry of 91 million inorganic and organic substances.

CM&E focuses on exciting global trends, vibrant multi-disciplinary networking and actionable insights, by organizing monthly luncheons and webcasts in midtown NYC where thought leaders present original research and cutting-edge outlooks on business, economy, and technology in energy, materials & life science. CM&E audience includes professionals from industry, investment, academia, government, media and supranational organizations.

Areas of interest include venture capital, chemicals, pharmaceuticals, personal care, cleantech, plastics, renewable resources, bio-nanotechnology, emerging markets, innovation and sustainability. Past speakers include:

> Andrew Liveris, Chairman and CEO, Dow Chemical
> Jon M. Huntsman, Executive Chairman, Huntsman Corporation
> Thomas Connelly, PhD, Chief Innovation Officer, DuPont
> Juan Pablo del Valle Perochena, Chairman, Mexichem
> Daniel Gamba, Managing Director, Latin America, BlackRock
> Jonathan Bryant, PhD, Managing Director, BASF Plant Science
> A. Peter Green, PhD, VP, Pharmaceutical Sciences, Pfizer R&D
> Jeff Kolke, Senior Vice President, GE Capital

CM&E today is recognized as the preeminent business and investment group of the ACS New York Section and we are committed to continue to expand our presence globally.

CM&E events held at prestigious venues in midtown New York city such as the Yale Club, the Penn Club and Aureole restaurant. Professionals around the world can join us via live and recorded webcasts.

To keep up with the program please join the CM&E Linked In Group by clicking on the "in" icon on the top right of this page.

The Illustrious History of the American Chemical Society’s New York Section 

Thirty-five chemists met at the College of Pharmacy of the City of New York on April 6, 1876, to found the American Chemical Society. Seven months later, the first president of the newly formed society, John William Draper, delivered his inaugural address at Chickering Hall in New York. 

American Chemical Society’s New York Section was the first group in in the association to give a National Prize. Since 1903, and as of 2012, the Annual Nichols Award has been given  to 108  scientists  of which 16 have also received a Nobel Prize in Chemistry. Some of those Nobel Laureates who were recognized with the ACS NY Nichols Medal include:

Nichols Medal
Nobel Prize
Irving Langmuir 1915 & 1920 1932
Linus Pauling 1941 1954
Glenn T. Seaborg 1948 1951
Robert B. Woodard 1956 1965
Melvin Calvin 1958 1961
Herbert C. Brown 1959 1979
Henry Taub 1971 1983
Bruce Merrifield 1973 1984
Elias J. Corey 1977 1990
Roald Hoffmann 1981 1981
Richard E. Smalley 1993 1996
Ahmed H.  Zewail 1998 1999


Recent recipients of the Nichols Medal are:

2011 - Julius Rebek, Jr. for Advances in the Science of Molecular Recognition and Encapsulation
2012 - Alan G. Marshall for Advances in Fourier Transform Ion Cyclotron Resonance Mass Spectrometry
2013 - Richard Eisenberg for Advances in Inorganic Photochemistry
2014 - Amos B Smith, III, for Synthetic Organic Chemistry
2015 - Gabor Sormojai, UC Berkeley, for Molecular Surface Science